The Ascension House

"Go confidently in the direction of your dreams. Live the life you have imagined." ~Henry David Thoreau

Avocado Superfood Lassi

on August 5, 2014

I love avocados. There is no denying it. It’s odd that I am so ‘avocadobsessed’ since more than half of my life (thus far) I completely loathed the stoned fruit. I wriggled my nose when someone asked me if I wanted guacamole on my taco. I gagged when I saw people eating the green flesh with nothing but a spoon. (A delicacy to me now..) Avocados were nasty and I wanted abso-friggen-lutely NOTHING to do with them!

avocado

It’s funny how your taste buds change as you get older. Once distasteful fruits like avocado and tomato became loyal kitchen companions. Vegetables such as fennel, leeks, and onions that once insulted my palate, now provide me with much aromatic amusement. Foods I never thought I could enjoy (tempeh? algae? chia??) are now staples in my overflowing food storage. And I love it. :)

Today, I want to share with you a delicious use for your green-fleshed friends. One that you might have overlooked!

lassi1

I love green smoothies, anyone that is friend’s with me on Facebook can tell you that. They’ve been a common breakfast staple for me for many years. They leave me vibrant and full of energy. When I drink them daily, I really notice a change in my vibration. My face is clear and dewy, my skin is elastic and well nourished.. I feel young, alive, and happy!!

My green smoothies all have a similar structure: Handful of greens, handful of fresh and/or frozen fruit, nut milk, superfood add-ins (like chia, hemp seeds, or spirulina), and lastly, something soft to “smooth” it all together! Most days, the ‘soft’ portion is fulfilled by the humble banana. It provides the perfect base for most of my smoothies. However, sometimes a girl wants to switch it up! That’s why this meal was created! :D

Avocado Superfood Lassi

A Lassi is a traditional Indian beverage containing yogurt. For a completely vegan version, you can omit the yogurt (or use a vegan version) & substitute maple syrup for the honey. ;)

lassi4

Ingredients:

  • 1 ripe avocado
  • 1 dollop organic yogurt (bonus points for local and/or homemade!)
  • Handful mixed greens (mine had baby kale, spinach, and chard)
  • 1 Tbs raw, local honey
  • 1 Tbs chia seeds
  • 2 tsp spirulina
  • 1 tsp fresh or ground ginger
  • 1/2 tsp ground cardamom
  • About 1 cup homemade coconut milk

Put all ingredients into a blender and give it a whirl. I use the NutriBullet and it is nothing short of amazing. Seriously just as good as a Vitamix for a fraction of the cost. If you’re poor like me, I highly recommend getting one. (And I’ve not been paid to endorse this product. I just really dig it!!)

lassi3

This Lassi is so yummy! The avocado & yogurt make it the smoothest smoothie you’ll have ever tasted! And I can promise you, YOU CAN’T TASTE THE GREENS! ;)

lassi2

Enjoy! xo

*This post has been shared on Wildcrafting Wednesday!

2 responses to “Avocado Superfood Lassi

  1. Namrata says:

    A first for me.. Avocado lassi! Am sure it must be creamy and delicious.

Comments make my motor run.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

