The Ascension House

"Go confidently in the direction of your dreams. Live the life you have imagined." ~Henry David Thoreau

Devilishly Dark Chocolate & Fresh Ginger Bundt Cake w/ Pearlescent Blood Orange Glaze

on March 26, 2014

I like big bundts and I cannot lie. Really, I can’t. So, when I discovered a large bundt pan (in PERFECT condition) among the many lovingly used kitchen items my sister gifted me, I was beyond excited. I needed to make a bundt cake RIGHT AWAY. (And I’ve been stuck on them ever since.) ;)

The first (of many) bundt cake recipes I’d like to share is my favorite of them to date. A delicious blend of dark, luxury French chocolate with just enough spice from freshly grated ginger. You know how I’m obsessed with ginger. If not, just stick around my blog long enough, and you’ll find out.

For the glaze, I used a succulent blood orange, zest and all. Some icing sugar and a bit of coconut oil created a perfectly smooth, and surprisingly pearlescent, topping. Oh, and it’s PINK!!! <3 <3 <3

Image

Devilishly Dark Chocolate & Fresh Ginger Bundt Cake

w/ Pearlescent Blood Orange Glaze

Cake:

  • 2 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup Valrhona cocoa (it was kinda pricey at Central Market, but soo worth it!!)
  • 3/4 cup raw sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp pink salt
  • 1 cup filtered water
  • 9 tbs coconut oil (in solid state)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tbs apple cider vinegar
  • 2 tsps fresh ginger (peeled & grated)

Glaze:

  • 1/2 blood orange (juice and zest)
  • 2 tbs coconut oil (melted)
  • 1-2 cups icing sugar (or enough to create a thick glaze)

(I just winged the glaze. Those measurements are ‘guesstimates.’)

Image

Sift the dry cake ingredients together in a large bowl. Add the wet ingredients and mix well. Pour batter into your beautiful bundt pan (that’s been rubbed down with coconut oil). Bake in the oven, preheated to 350 degrees F, for 35-45 minutes. I like to leave mine a little under-done, so that it remains nice and moist for days after.

Remove from the oven and allow to cool in the pan 5-10 minutes. Then, flip your pan onto a cooling rack and let the cake rest another 15 minutes (at least!). While you’re patiently waiting, you can assemble the glaze. Simply blend the listed ingredients until smooth. You can place in the refrigerator to thicken up a bit, if necessary. Pour onto your cooled cake and enjoy!

Image

I hope you love this delicious cake as much as we did! I’ll see you when baby gets back. ;)

xo

*This post was shared on Wildcrafting Wednesday!

 

6 responses to “Devilishly Dark Chocolate & Fresh Ginger Bundt Cake w/ Pearlescent Blood Orange Glaze

  1. I started my first ever visit to your blog with this cake. Good omen indeed!

    Look awesome.

  2. coconutcraze says:

    A cake lover’s delight! Very tempting!

  3. Yum yum yum….. is all I can say!!

Comments make my motor run.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

