The Ascension House

"Go confidently in the direction of your dreams. Live the life you have imagined." ~Henry David Thoreau

One Quick Dough, Two Delicious Ways: Navajo Fry Bread Tacos + Pita Pockets & Spicy Hummus!

on March 24, 2014

Wow. It’s been quite the hiatus. I’m sorry I’ve neglected the blog for so long. I’ve been through a whirl-wind of emotions over the past few months and I can’t even begin to explain. So I won’t. Not yet. Instead, I have some exciting and easy recipes to share!

Image

First off, I’ve been DYING to try Navajo Fry Bread Tacos after stumbling upon their image on Pinterest. If you aren’t aware of their deliciousness, let me just give you the low-down: Fried, puffy dough piled high with all your favorite taco fillings. Don’t be fooled by the name, though. You’ll be eating this puppy with a fork and knife!

It was late Saturday night, I required something quick and easy to appease a hungry, video-game-playing boyfriend. Navajo Fry Bread called my name. I didn’t realize how easy they would be. But about half an hour later, we were basking in (and stuffing our faces with) their glory.

Image

For the dough, I used this recipe as a guideline. I tweaked it to suit my needs.

Navajo Fry Bread/Pita Pocket Dough:

  • 4 cups flour (I used 3 AP, 1 white wheat)
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder (aluminum-free)
  • 1 teaspoon pink salt
  • 2 teaspoons brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon coconut oil (cut in)
  • 2 tablespoons milk of choice
  • 1 cup filtered water (more or less, depending)

Mix the flour, baking powder, salt, and brown sugar in a bowl. Cut in the coconut oil using a wire whisk. Add the 2 tbs milk (I actually subbed water because I only had date-sweetened vanilla cashew milk on hand!) and enough water to form a soft dough. Knead briefly and let rest for about 15 minutes. While you wait, you can assemble your toppings.

For the filling in the taco above, I used 2 Field Roast Mexican Chipotle sausage links (cooked and crumbled), 1 cup pinto beans, 1 can diced tomatoes, chili powder, garlic & onion powders, salt, and pepper. This was a delicious chili-like filling that I’m sure to use again in a variety of ways. It would be perfect atop some homemade Frito’s for a great from-scratch Chili Pie. Or poured over a seitan chili-cheese dog or homemade fries. Mmmmm.. Where was I? Right, the dough is ready now.

Heat your favorite frying oil (about 1/2-1 inch thick) in a shallow pan. Stretch your dough, or roll it out if you’re not lazy like I was. Either way you do it, the dough’s going to bubble up when fried. Carefully place the flattened dough in the hot oil and fry until golden brown. Flip and fry the other side another few minutes til brown. Remove with tongs and drain on a paper-towel lined plate.

Now, top the bread with a layer of the chili taco filling. Cover with your favorite cheese (I used an aged Havarti). Place in a pre-heated oven for a few minutes until the cheese is melted. Then add fresh veggies of your choice. I wish I was better prepared, because this taco is CRYING for some homemade guac and sour cream. Nonetheless, super delicious and oh-so-easy!

(I will post more pics next time I make this dish. I only snapped the one before devouring!!)

I’m a huge fan of re-purposing, especially when it comes to food! I hate wasting, so the more uses I can find for leftovers, the better. After the Phenomenal Fry Bread Experience that was Saturday night, I again found myself needing something super quick for dinner on Sunday.

I had started a batch of homemade tahini (recipe below) in anticipation for the best hummus ever. I’ve made hummus in the past, but up til now, I used sub-par food processors and never bothered with the tahini (I was always too cheap to buy it! LOL), so it never turned out quite right. Now that I was gifted an AWESOME Cuisinart food processor (thank you again!), I can do things like make awesome hummus with homemade (and cheap!) tahini.

Image

Homemade Hummus:

  • 1 can chickpeas (rinsed and drained)
  • 1 1/2 small lemons (juiced)
  • One-time tahini (recipe below)
  • A few dashes of white wine vinegar
  • Salt, pepper, chili powder, and cumin
  • Enough oil to make a smooth consistency (I used grapeseed)
  • Hot Chili Sauce & Paprika for presentation

One-Time Tahini:

  • 1/4 cup sesame seeds (toasted)
  • Pinch of pink salt
  • Enough oil to create a smooth paste (I used grapeseed)

In your fancy food processor, add the toasted sesame seeds and salt. Pulverize and gradually add enough oil to create a smooth paste. Now, add the drained chickpeas, lemon juice, and vinegar, pulverize again. While the machine is running, drizzle enough oil to make your hummus as thick or creamy as you’d like. Add seasonings to your liking. Now you can pour into a serving dish. I made a little well in the middle and poured in some hot chili sauce. Sprinkle with paprika.

I was so impressed with the way the hummus turned out, I decided we needed to eat it IMMEDIATELY! I pulled the leftover dough from the fry bread and rolled it into four flat disks. I baked these at 400 degrees (F) for about 10 minutes (until light brown) and lo-and-behold, they puffed up JUST LIKE PITA! I did a little happy dance in my kitchen as I cut into the first one:

Image

Hello, Perfect Pita Pocket!! ^_^

I quickly cut into triangles and the non-stop dipping commenced.

I was thoroughly impressed at the versatility of this quick-bread recipe. Whether you fry it up or bake it, it’s definitely a great one to have on hand for hectic days. I hope you enjoy!

See you soon. I promise. ;)

*This post was shared on Wildcrafting Wednesday!


2 responses to “One Quick Dough, Two Delicious Ways: Navajo Fry Bread Tacos + Pita Pockets & Spicy Hummus!

  1. Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay! You’re back! ^_^ This looks fantastic I am going to make these when I am back from vacation :D

Comments make my motor run.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

