The Ascension House

"Go confidently in the direction of your dreams. Live the life you have imagined." ~Henry David Thoreau

Prettiest Pickled Watermelon Radishes

on November 11, 2013

Every week, the Producer’s Market provides a substantial amount of my produce for home-cooked meals, smoothies, and snacks. This trip, I picked up some gorgeous watermelon radishes (among many other delicious things). I’ve seen them in the supermarket before, but never of such large, voluptuous quality. Local is always better, watermelon radishes are no exception.

watermelonradishes

I wasn’t quite sure what to do with them at first. Other than stare, that is. Upon the slicing of the first root, I was flabbergasted. The colors were so vibrant, I couldn’t believe it was REAL food. It’s amazing to me that food scientists will use all kinds of artificial dyes and additives (bugs even!!) to create colors that we can already find elsewhere… You just gotta know where to look. ;)

radishcollage2

My phone doesn’t even do these beauties justice. They remind me of tie-dyes or gemstones.. Both things that are all too precious to my heart. Not to mention this electric pink has always been one of my favorite colors. Watermelons my favorite fruit. Radishes one of my favorite… Sorry, I digress..

I found a very simple pickling recipe for the watermelon radishes on Pinterest. This recipe is no boil (which is great when your bf haaaaates the smell of vinegar!) and about as easy as it gets!!

Prettiest Pickled Watermelon Radishes

radishcollage3

You need:

  • 1 bunch medium local organic watermelon radishes
  • 1 cup white distilled vinegar (You can also use white wine or rice vinegar)
  • 1/2 cup filtered water
  • 1 tbs sea salt
  • 1 tbs organic sugar
  • 1 tbs red pepper flakes

Slice your radishes as thinly as possible. I used a knife, but a mandoline slicer would work excellent! (Just be careful!!!!)  Add the vinegar, water, salt, sugar, and pepper flakes to a large glass jar. Shake until the salt and sugar are dissolved. Add your radish slices until the jar is filled, making sure they are covered with liquid. Tighten on the lid and refrigerate for several hours (or overnight).

radishcollage1

The color will bleed out of the radishes, leaving you with fluorescent pink pickles and juice! You can add red or white onions, jalapenos, or other spices to create a unique tasting pickle if you prefer! They are spicy, delicious, and I cannot wait to eat them atop some tacos or tucked into a sandwich!

Let me know what you think! Namaste!

*This post was shared on Frugal Days, Sustainable Ways and Wildcrafting Wednesday!


4 responses to “Prettiest Pickled Watermelon Radishes

  1. these are SO pretty i could eat a whole jar just on looks alone! :D

  2. These look and sound amazing! Maybe I will try growing these next year as a way to entice me to eat more radishes!

Comments make my motor run.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

