The Ascension House

"Go confidently in the direction of your dreams. Live the life you have imagined." ~Henry David Thoreau

Immunity Boosting Kimchi Noodles

on November 3, 2013

For the first time in several years, I caught a cold. Or maybe it was allergies. Whatever the eff it was, it wasn’t fun. It’s also been lingering the past week. I’m not sick, but a little sniffly in the early mornings and late at night (along with an occasional cough). To combat it, I’ve been drinking loads of Prevention Tea and cooking with shit-tons of fresh garlic, onions, and ginger. Today’s recipe showcases all of the above, with the added benefits of homemade Kimchi.

kimchinoodles1

Kimchi is a fermented Korean side dish made of cabbage, carrots, garlic, onions, and plenty of spice!! Traditionally, it’s made with fish sauce, though, being the veggie I am, I omit that and it tastes just as good! (My kimchi is Korean-friend Approved LOL!!) I made the kimchi in this recipe well over a year ago, and it’s still just as delicious, if not more so. Some things just get better with time..

kimchi

During my kimchi research, I found that the older kimchi and it’s juices are often reserved for use in soups and stews. Thus, today when I set out to abolish my Ramen-noodle craving (I don’t eat the stuff, but I make a homemade version that is just as good-without the chemicals and MSG!), I decided to add the rest of my old fermented goodness. I make my kimchi with red cabbage, which is abundant in Iron, Vitamin K, Vitamin C, and Vitamin A. Iron assists your body in creating the cells that fight viruses, while Vitamin K is excellent for bone health, and is especially important for women. Vitamin C is a well-known combatant against colds and viruses; it also helps to neutralize free radicals in the body. Vitamin A provides you with the much needed antioxidant Beta-Carotene (also found in carrots!), which helps boost your immune system and is wonderful for eye health!

ingredients

Other health-boosting ingredients include a nutrient rich, low sodium organic vegetable broth, organic tamari (which can help with digestive health), and lots of sauteed garlic, onions, and ginger. The three above superfoods have great anti-inflammatory benefits. Garlic and onions are both anti-viral and anti-bacterial, as well, which increase immunity to help kick whatever is keeping you down.. and FAST!!!!

Immunity Boosting Kimchi Noodles

kimchinoodles2

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 white onion (chopped)
  • 3 cloves garlic (finely diced)
  • 2-3 inches fresh ginger root (peeled and grated)
  • enough grapeseed oil to saute all of the above (about 1-2 tbs)
  • 1-2 cups organic vegetable broth (you want roughly twice the amount of liquid as noodles)
  • 1 handful spaghetti noodles (I’m not sure what the best way to accurately measure spaghetti noodles is.. but it was about 1/6 of the package. LOL)
  • Splash of organic tamari (to taste)
  • Paprika, garlic powder, red pepper flakes, salt, and pepper to taste
  • 1 cup homemade (or store-bought) Kimchi w/ juice (recipe for mine soon!!)

First, you want to saute the onions until they are translucent. Add the garlic and ginger, and cook for about 1 minute. Pour in 1-2 cups vegetable broth and bring to a boil. Add the noodles (I always break mine in half first for easy handling) and cook til tender. Now you can lower the heat, add the seasonings, and stir in your kimchi! Enjoy with a large glass of water, because this shit is HOT!! :)

noodles

Stay healthy this cold/flu/allergy season! xo

Namaste!

*This post was share on Frugal Days, Sustainable Ways and Wildcrafting Wednesday!


4 responses to “Immunity Boosting Kimchi Noodles

  1. Kristin says:

    Great post. i know i should probably include some kimchi in my diet as it’s such an amazing fermented food – tons of benefits, but i just haven’t done it – think you’ve inspired me.
    Thanks for sharing on Wildcrafting Wednesdays! I hope you’ll join us this week and share more of your awesome posts.

    http://www.herbanmomma.com/2013/11/wildcrafting-wednesday-11-6-13/

    • samantha says:

      It’s so delicious! I’d never tried traditional kimchi before making my own. It’s lovely!! Of course, I make mine super spicy! I’ll post a recipe soon!! (I’m all out and already craving it!!) :) Thank you so much for stopping by!

  2. A Lapin Life says:

    Thanks for the recipe. I don’t eat pasta so this is something I will try :)

Comments make my motor run.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

