The Ascension House

"Go confidently in the direction of your dreams. Live the life you have imagined." ~Henry David Thoreau

Bake-Your-Own Sandwich Loaf

on September 5, 2013

If you follow a Gluten-Free diet, I suggest you high-tail it in the other direction right away. Just hit that little X in the corner screen, and QUICK! ‘Cause this is gonna be a doozey. ;)

gluten

Today, I’m going to share with you the BEST EVER sandwich loaf. But don’t let the name fool you. This bread makes excellent toast, croutons, and breadcrumbs as well! You can also bake it outside the loaf pan to form a baguette, boule, or simple homemade dinner rolls! By substituting whole wheat or white wheat for some of the flour, you can make this bread a bit healthier too. I have tried a combination of flours and oils in this recipe, which I’ll include in the baker’s notes below! :)

Bake-Your-Own Sandwich Loaf

breadpostcollage4

You need:

  • 1 1/3 cup filtered water
  • 1/3 cup oil (your choice; see notes below)
  • 4 cups organic flour (white, whole wheat, or white wheat; see notes)
  • 2 tbs vital wheat gluten
  • 2 tbs + 2 tsp organic brown sugar
  • 2 tsp pink sea salt
  • 3 tsp dry active yeast

Makes two regular sandwich style loaves.

I use a bread machine to mix my dough, but you could easily use a stand mixer or do it by hand! Just make sure it’s mixed well and kneaded a few times. Let rest for about an hour or until doubled in size. Punch the dough and knead again, briefly. Now sprinkle some flour on a clean, flat surface and get to work! Roll the dough into a long oval shape. Then, roll it up into itself and pinch the ends closed. Yes, I just said to pinch your loaf. LOL! (Robin, that one’s for you! ;) )

breadpostcollage2

After the pinching process, place your dough in a bread pan. Let rise again until the top is about half the height (above the pan) you want for your end result. After it rises, place into an oven pre-heated to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Bake for 30-35 minutes, until the top is a deep brown.

breadpostcollage3

Allow to cool about 10 minutes before removing from the pan. Otherwise, you’ll risk the bottom of the bread getting soggy. Now, let cool on a baker’s rack or parchment paper. (I usually lay mine on it’s side until the bottom is cooled down.) Now, you can slice and enjoy! Like I said, this bread makes amazing sandwiches and the absolute best Texas toast!! YUM!!!

breadpostcollage1

Baker’s Notes:

  • As far as oils go, I recommend organic grapeseed or unrefined coconut oil. The grapeseed seems to yield a higher-risen, lighter bread. Albeit, a bit crummy (literally!). I tried coconut oil in the solid form and melted. In the solid form the bread is very dense, yet still soft. It won’t rise quite as high as the melted coconut or grapeseed loaves. My personal preference is melted coconut, though I use grapeseed often out of convenience. Update: I LOVE roasted walnut oil in this recipe! Other oils I’d recommend include avocado and macadamia. :)
  • Thus far, I’ve tried a few combinations of flours. Generally, I use all organic, unbleached white flour. Sometimes, I like to mix it up and throw in half whole wheat or white wheat. The whole wheat will of course be more dense and hardy. I don’t recommend doing the entire loaf with whole wheat. White wheat would be an acceptable substitute though, as it is not as robust as 100% whole wheat. Feel free to adapt as needed and please let me know how it goes!! Update: I’ve been using half Bob’s Red Mill Organic whole wheat & half unbleached white and it makes the best bread ever!! Super soft and perfect sliced thick or thin!
  • There are a variety of sugar substitutes you can use in this recipe. My favorites are maple syrup, honey, sucanat, and coconut sugar!
  • To make your loaves extra special, I recommend sprinkling the dough with herbs before rolling it up and placing in the pan. I like to use oregano, basil, and garlic & onion powders, but I’m sure rosemary and thyme would be equally delicious! Have fun! (This step also makes lovely little swirls once the bread is baked. Truly artisan loaves!!)
  • Make this dessert bread by buttering the dough and sprinkling with cinnamon and sugar before rolling up and baking. Just do it, and thank me later! ;)

Have fun and enjoy! Namaste!!!

*This post was shared on Frugal Days, Sustainable Ways & Wildcrafting Wednesday!
Wildcrafting Wednesday Featured Blogger Award

41 responses to “Bake-Your-Own Sandwich Loaf

  1. Namrata says:

    The bread looks absolutely perfect.

  2. Andie G. says:

    What is “vital wheat gluten” and is it the same gluten that makes people irritable, fatigued, hyperactive, etc. – in other words can you make this bread without it?

    • VG says:

      Pretty sure if you read the very beginning of the post, your question will be answered…

    • samantha says:

      Vital Wheat Gluten is the natural protein found in wheat. This would be the same gluten you’ve been hearing about in the health food realm, and is to be avoided for celiacs and people whom are gluten intolerant. As per the disclaimer at the top of the post, this bread does not have a gluten-free option. Even if you were to omit the VWG, the flours in this recipe also contain gluten. I do not have a gluten-free substitute for this bread, as I am not a gluten-free baker! :)

  3. Kamiko says:

    I absolutely love homemade bread. i even tried to make bread by omitting raisins and cinnamon from my cinnamon raisin bread recipe, and it was good! you just cant beat even the simplest homemade recipes over the store bought with all the chemicals!

  4. Diana Robison says:

    I am going to try to make this today with GF flour mix and with out the VWG.

  5. lee engle says:

    awesome, thanks. as a Dad that is trying to cook and bake for the family every trick and tip helps. not a lot of cooking went on at the job sites wrenching & welding, so these hints are really appreciated.

  6. ellemarz says:

    What size is your loaf pan and where did you buy it? Thanks!

    • samantha says:

      The Pyrex glass loaf pan I have is 4.5 x 8.5 in (1.5 QT), though I’ve also seen 4 x 8 and 5 x 9. Anything around that size would be perfect! You should be able to find one at your local grocery or home goods store! If not, there’s always Amazon.com! :)

  7. Pam says:

    Is it possible to also bake the bread in a bread machine and have it come out like this?

    • samantha says:

      I use my bread machine on the dough setting to mix this loaf. I am particular about the shape of my bread, though, and am not keen on the shape my bread maker bakes loaves. They come out too square and not as pretty, in my opinion. You can feel free to bake it in the machine, should work fine if you aren’t as aesthetically OCD as I am!!! ;)

  8. Staci S says:

    Where do you find wheat gluten? I’ve made lots of breads and have never added it, interested to try!

  9. donni says:

    I have some sourdough starter (that I’ve been growing and feeding faithfully!) and I tried half white and half wheat and ended up with this very hard bread that I almost had to fight to cut (forget sandwich size slices….) so next time I’m using your recipe with the oil. Maybe I’ll not use the wheat for my next loaf. Thank you for this recipe!!

    • samantha says:

      My pleasure! You might try ‘white wheat’ flour instead of whole wheat. I find it’s a lot more similar to white, hence the name I suppose! I’ve been wanting to try sourdough for a while! Do you have an easy recipe for the starter?

  10. JC Allen says:

    Can’t locate any vital wheat gluten locally and shipping costs are too high for this old senior. What store(s) carry it? Or what else can I use?

    • samantha says:

      Most health food stores should carry it, if your local grocery store does not. Otherwise, you can substitute 2 cups bread flour in the recipe. (The VWG added to the regular flour creates bread flour. I buy mine in bulk because I go through way too much flour to be buying specialty kinds. Easier to buy bulk AP and make my own!)

  11. Diana Marie says:

    Do you know what the weight of each loaf is? Also what do you use to get thin slices. Mine always come out thick even with my electric knife.

  12. queen of string says:

    I made this today. Decided to risk it and omitted the VWG as Canadian all purpose flour has more gluten than most places to begin with. I have to say this is the best soft white bread I have ever made. It’s like the holy grail of white bread. I have made a lot of bread looking for this result. This is it. I and my family are so happy!

    • samantha says:

      I’m so glad it worked out perfectly!! This is my favorite recipe, to date. I make 2 loaves at least once a week! It makes the best sandwiches, especially grilled cheese! :)

  13. […] Bake Your Own Sandwich Loaf by the Ascension House […]

  14. Vera says:

    looks interesting!! Can the result be frozen and unfrozen without loosing its texture? Are the added gluten vital in the recipe? Can it be made with spelt?

    • samantha says:

      I haven’t attempted freezing it yet, as we eat them up way too quickly! LOL However, I’m sure it would be fine. The added gluten is necessary, unless you want to use 2 cups bread flour in the recipe. (Bread flour has a higher gluten content. I am basically just making my own bread flour by adding gluten to the AP.) I have not tried this bread with spelt. Feel free to give it a shot and let me know how it goes! :)

  15. […] Bake Your Own Sandwich Loaf by the Ascension House […]

  16. […] Bake Your Own Sandwich Loaf by the Ascension House […]

  17. I just made this tonight, but I must have rolled it weird. How do you divide it and form it into a loaf?

    • samantha says:

      You want to roll it out into a long oval or rectangle shape. Then roll it up, starting on either of the short sides, making sure the roll is tight. Once you have the log shape, you want to be sure to pinch the dough together along the entire opening.. Then place it pinched seam side down into your loaf pan. :)

  18. […] love it spread on top of my homemade bread as toast or paired with some homemade nut butter. It’s also amazing warmed up and poured over […]

  19. […] (and a little outside, too) and served it on some fresh baked garlic & herb bread (recipe here) with all the fixins’! […]

  20. […] Chop dates and prunes into small pieces, smaller the better, and place in water and bring to a boil. Cook until a thick consistency and then throw it in a jar, and store in the fridge. 1 tablespoon a day should get things done, and it is super good on toast from home made bread. […]

Comments make my motor run.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

